Everything old is cool again.

There’s been a style trend lately of making new things look old. Giving a patina to a new lamp so it looks like your grandfather owned it, or beating up a perfectly good piece of furniture so that it no longer looks like a perfectly good piece of furniture.

While that does happen here in the South, we also have our share of actual old things, not just re-creations.
Sometimes, however, even those need a little help.

I find the lamp in this picture to be beautiful. From what I understand it was left in a barn for the past thirty-something years. Then a kid in one of my classes gave it to me (we were trying to film at the time and needed some lighting). Because of it’s age and condition we promptly shorted out the socket and left it sitting in my room.

I got a wild notion the other day that this lamp would look really cool hanging over my desk, but I refused to put an Compact Florescent Bulb or a Light Emitting Diode in it. Even a regular light bulb wouldn’t look right. So, I invested in a new ceramic socket, wired it up using the original plug wire, and got it working again. The bulb, though, was the main event. It could make or break this lamp, either create an ugly combination of modern and vintage or truly shine out in all its glory.

An Edison bulb was obviously the only way to go. They have a really bright coil, but don’t put out much light. Basically, looking like the bulbs first invented by Thomas Edison (go figure).

I couldn’t be happier with the hanging lamp. Lots of dents, dings, blemishes, stains and filled with outdated technology. Kind of reminds me of myself.

Categories: Living, South | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

