Ye Olde Country… or not

Look, I’ve included two pictures today. It’s to make up for those posts with no pictures.

But in all seriousness, I love castles. It may be my Irish/Scottish/Welsh/German heritage, but I have always thought they were simply cool. When I was younger I would read all about King Arthur and his knights. Later I branched out into Tolkien and Lewis, finally hitting Robert Jordan and George R.R. Martin. Fantasy has always struck a cord with me. There is just something about the chivalry, the quests, and the fellowship (pun intended).

So, I look at castles. I have books with pictures of them. I look them up on-line. I like Castles.

Now, here is the question. Where are the castles featured in these pictures? Some Scottish Highland, a rolling hill in Ireland, the heart of London, Cardiff, or Berlin? Nope.

The first one, with the air-conditioner in the window, is about 10 miles from my house, in downtown Corinth, Mississippi. (The Castle is in Corinth, not me)  I don’t know much about it, but apparently, a “crazy cat lady” used to live there. Right now it is a bit of disrepair and up for sale. I really wish I had the time, money, and skill to go after it.

The second one, with the curved staircase, you may have seen before. It had a bit of fame in a recent music video by a county starlet, something about Romeo and Juliet. It stands close to 20 miles from my brother’s house.  Just outside of Franklin, Tennessee, this castle and the grounds surrounding it, serve as the backdrop for the Tennessee Renaissance Festival. It’s held every year in May and supports a great gathering of geekdom from all across the South.
That’s just one of the many things I love about living in the South. You really never know what you are going to find.

Picture credit: I took the Corinth, MS one. The other is from the Press Kit at tenrenfest.com

Categories: Living, South | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

